Debt relief and asset recovery tracker
Evidence checked 13 September 2026
This tracker distinguishes commitments, confirmed transactions and amounts received. “Not disclosed” or “not verified” never means zero. The entries are a sourced selection, not a complete register of every council asset.
Woking: £500m government commitment
- Committed for 2026/27
- £500m
- Repayments confirmed
- 1 and 3 September 2026
- Amount paid / remaining
- Not disclosed in cited answer
The commitment was announced on 28 October 2025. The minister’s 8 September 2026 answer confirms the first two payments towards PWLB loans and says repayments will continue through March 2027. It does not give amounts for those payments, so a cash total or percentage complete cannot yet be calculated from that answer. Woking debt repayments: ministerial answer (8 September 2026).
Next evidence needed: amounts and loan references for each repayment, reconciled to the council’s borrowing balance.
Spelthorne: refinancing completed in November 2025
On 24 November 2025, the council reported a £342m refinancing discount and outstanding loan debt of £715m. This supersedes indicative discounts used in earlier proposals. The discount is a reduction in loan liabilities, not an asset-sale receipt or a Woking government grant. £715m is a dated transaction snapshot, not a verified September 2026 balance. Spelthorne strengthens long-term financial position (24 November 2025).
Next evidence needed: subsequent repayments, borrowing and asset proceeds, together with the effect of shorter maturities and interest costs.
Woking town-centre assets: disposal approach approved
The 11 June 2026 Executive minutes record a revised approach: Victoria Square assets would be marketed together, with Wolsey Walk, Export House and ThamesWey Residential holdings handled separately. The arrangements include retaining car-park operations and income through leases. This is evidence of a disposal decision, not proof of a completed sale. Woking Executive: revised asset disposal approach (11 June 2026).
| Asset group | Evidence stage | Completion / net receipts |
|---|---|---|
| Victoria Square package | Marketing/disposal approach approved | Not verified in the cited decision |
| Wolsey Walk / Export House / ThamesWey Residential holdings | Marketing/disposal approach approved | Not verified in the cited decision |
Next evidence needed: completion date, purchaser, gross price, selling costs, retained liabilities and the amount actually applied to debt. These entries will need updating when completion evidence is available.
For household implications, read the resident guide. Our methodology and corrections log explains how the figures are kept separate.